GARDEN TRAGEDY

Standard

Broccoli and cabbage seedlingsRemember I mentioned that I was growing broccoli and cabbage for a fall harvest? Well, my house is surrounded by woods, and sunlight is at a premium. I have to chase the sun to make sure my seedlings get enough energy to grow. In the afternoons, that best sun spot is on the driveway.

As I do every afternoon, I moved my babies from the porch to the driveway. My husband came back from work, and felt something weird under his car tires. Cabbage tray ran overIt happened. Half my babies were crushed by a Jeep. Now, I don’t know if I mentioned this but I planted 10 small pots of each vegetable. From them, 8 of each made it to the next size pots. I thought that was enough since both plants grow huge.

But now… I only have 4 of each. And a couple look like runts. Oh well, you win some, you lose some.

Broccoli and tire tracks

You can even see the tire tracks.

Seedling killer

A photo of the perpetrator. Beware of him around your seedlings. Hmm, why does he look so happy?

Care to comment?